Alert! NC General Assembly Committee Proposes 100% Cut to Humanities Council

Alert! NC General Assembly Committee Proposes 100% Cut to Humanities Council

The North Carolina General Assembly’s House Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government is proposing to ZERO OUT funding for the North Carolina Humanities Council. The Humanities Council needs you to communicate respectfully your adamant opposition to this budget recommendation. 

Please complete this call to action ASAP. Your message should be concise: I strongly oppose the proposed budget cuts to the North Carolina Humanities Council. 

The North Carolina Humanities Council  

     ~ has for nearly forty years delivered programs about North Carolina’s cultures             and history to every area of the state

     ~ produces free programs that promote community growth and insight 

     ~leverages program dollars by more than double with local in-kind support

     ~ helps public school K-12 teachers rekindle their passion to inquire, imagine,               learn -- a passion that can transform a younger generation’s future.

Contact information for the House Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government is below.

Representative George Cleveland (chair), Onslow, 919-715-6707 George.Cleveland@ncleg.net

Representative Dale Folwell (chair), Forsyth, 919-733-5787 Dale.Folwell@ncleg.net

Representative Elmer Floyd, (vice-chair) Cumberland, 919-733-5959 Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net

Representative Alma Adams, Guilford, 919-733-5902 Alma.Adams@ncleg.net

Representative Glen Bradley, Franklin, Halifax, Nash 919-733-5860 Glen.Bradley@ncleg.net

Representative Sue Fisher, Buncombe, 919-715-2013 Susan.Fisher@ncleg.net

Representative Rosa Gill, Wake, 919-733-5880 Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net

Representative Mike Hager, Cleveland, Rutherford, 919-733-5749 Mike.Hager@ncleg.net

Representative R. Phillip Haire, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain, 919-715-3005 Phillip.Haire@ncleg.net

Representative Pricey Harrison, Guilford, 919-733-5771 Pricey.Harrison@ncleg.net

Representative Kelly Hastings, Cleveland, Gaston, 919-715-2002 Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net

Representative Grey Mills, Iredell, 919-733-5741 Grey.Mills@ncleg.net

Representative Ruth Samuelson, Mecklenburg, 919-715-3009 Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net

Representative John Torbett, Gaston, 919-733-5868 John.Torbett@ncleg.net

THANK YOU!