A Look Back: The 2015 John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities

Bill Ferris and Harvey Gantt

We want to thank everyone who attend our October 2015 annual John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities event at our new home in Charlotte, NC! We are so pleased to have honored Harvey Gantt with our 2015 Caldwell Award for his lifelong achievements as an advocate for the public humanities across North Carolina. We were also excited to bestow the Award for Excellence in the Public Humanities to the Marian Cheek Jackson Center for their exhibit The Struggle Continues.


From left to right; Hudson Vaughan, Deputy Director Marion Cheek Jackson Center, Ms. Charley Mae Norwood Board of Directors Marion Cheek Jackson Center, Sally and Russ Robinson 2013 Caldwell Laureates, Harvey Gantt 2015 Caldwell Laureate, Ms. Esphur Foster Board of Directors Marion Cheek Jackson Center, George Barrett Associate Director Marion Cheek Jackson Center, Ms. Tanya Barrett and Della Pollock Executive Director of the Marion Cheek Jackson Center.

Congresswoman Alma Adams of NC-12 delivered welcoming remarks at the opening of the Caldwell Award ceremony. 

Bill Ferris, former chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Joel R. Williamson Eminent Professor and Senior Associate Director at Center for the Study of the American South at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, delivered the keynote address. Pictured above, Bill Ferris and Harvey Gantt.

Following the award program a reception was held at the Harvey B. Gantt Center in uptown Charlotte, NC.