Programs by Date

March 19, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 6:00pm
Smithfield, NC

March 24, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Sunday, March 24, 2019 - 1:00pm
Lillington, NC

March 26, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 - 6:00pm
Fayetteville, NC

March 27, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - 12:00pm
Wilmington, NC
Road Scholar Event
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - 5:00pm
Wilmington, NC

March 30, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Saturday, March 30, 2019 - 2:00pm
Kings Mountain, NC

April 1, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Monday, April 1, 2019 - 6:00pm
Kings Mountain, NC

April 2, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 - 11:00am
Raleigh, NC

April 4, 2019

Grant Event
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 9:00am
Durham, NC

This two day symposium explores the future of environmental humanities. Highlighted topics are listed below. For a full breakdown of events by day, Click here to register.

Practicum - Deep Time: Soil Science Science and Humanities
Practicum - History of the Farm, Soil Restoration and Food

Land, Water, Food and Sustainability panel
Carbon Offsets (speed talks)
Environmental Justice panel

Road Scholar Event
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 1:00pm
Elizabeth City, NC

April 5, 2019

Grant Event
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 8:45am
Durham, NC

This two day symposium explores the future of environmental humanities. Highlighted topics are listed below. For a full breakdown of events by day, Click here to register.

Practicum - Deep Time: Soil Science Science and Humanities
Practicum - History of the Farm, Soil Restoration and Food

Land, Water, Food and Sustainability panel
Carbon Offsets (speed talks)
Environmental Justice panel

Grant Event
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 7:00pm
Oxford, NC

Literary Forum on "The Epic of Old Mali" featuring the 3 Humanities Scholars:  Dr. Joyce Russell. Dr. Tolokun Omokunde, Dr. Deb Mizerk.  Dr. Helen Othow will be the Moderator.  Following will be the forum will be a banquet to award prizes for the winning high school essays. 

Project Director: Helen C. Othow - hdothow@embarqmail.com or 9196939133

April 8, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Monday, April 8, 2019 - 7:00pm
Snow Hill, NC

April 10, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 - 3:00pm
Warrenton, NC

April 11, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - 11:00am
Sanford, NC
Road Scholar Event
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - 6:00pm
Pittsboro, NC

April 13, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Saturday, April 13, 2019 - 10:30am
Pineville, NC
Road Scholar Event
Saturday, April 13, 2019 - 1:00pm
Fuquay Varina, NC

April 15, 2019

Road Scholar Event
Monday, April 15, 2019 - 7:00pm
Rockingham, NC