Programs by Date

May 25, 2016

Let's Talk About It Event
Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 6:30pm
Jacksonville, NC

May 26, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Thursday, May 26, 2016 - 7:00pm
Sparta, NC

May 28, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Saturday, May 28, 2016 - 10:00am
Bath, NC

June 2, 2016

Grant Event
Thursday, June 2, 2016 - 6:00pm
Winston-Salem, NC

Join a North Carolina Poet Shirlette Ammons in this the last of five public conversations with North Carolina scholars exploring the intersections among the humanities and the sciences, informed by SECCA's exhibit The Future We Remember. The exhibit brings together contemporary artists whose work “offers fictions and fantasies of what culture, technology, and ecology could become.” Through monthly conversations, scholars will help audiences to interpret items in a time capsule selected by exhibit artists.

June 4, 2016

Let's Talk About It Event
Saturday, June 4, 2016 - 2:00pm
Charlotte, NC

June 7, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 6:00pm
Burlington, NC

June 11, 2016

June 22, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Wednesday, June 22, 2016 - 12:00pm
Shelby, NC

June 26, 2016

September 11, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Sunday, September 11, 2016 - 3:00pm
Shelby, NC

September 13, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Tuesday, September 13, 2016 - 2:00pm
Hatteras, NC

September 15, 2016

Pulitzer NC Event
Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 4:30pm
Charlotte, NC

Pulitzer Charlotte: Power and Accountability

Dr. Cheryl Butler-Brayboy, Associate Professor of English in the Department of Languages & Literature at Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte, and distinguished panelists will explore the power of new media to trigger social activism and political action.

Speakers include:

September 19, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Monday, September 19, 2016 - 9:00am
Southern Pines, NC

September 27, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 2:00pm
Hatteras, NC
Road Scholar Event
Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 7:30pm
Haw River, NC

October 7, 2016

Road Scholar Event
Friday, October 7, 2016 - 8:00pm
Greensboro, NC