Programs by Type

Road Scholar Event

Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 6:00pm
Burlington, NC
Wednesday, June 22, 2016 - 12:00pm
Shelby, NC
Sunday, September 11, 2016 - 3:00pm
Shelby, NC
Tuesday, September 13, 2016 - 2:00pm
Hatteras, NC
Monday, September 19, 2016 - 9:00am
Southern Pines, NC
Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 2:00pm
Hatteras, NC
Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 7:30pm
Haw River, NC

Let's Talk About It Event

Wednesday, March 23, 2016 - 6:30pm
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 6:30pm
Wednesday, April 27, 2016 - 6:30pm
Wednesday, May 11, 2016 - 6:30pm
Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 6:30pm
Jacksonville, NC
Saturday, April 9, 2016 - 2:00pm
Saturday, April 23, 2016 - 2:00pm
Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 2:00pm
Saturday, May 21, 2016 - 2:00pm
Saturday, June 4, 2016 - 2:00pm
Charlotte, NC

Grant Event

Thursday, June 2, 2016 - 6:00pm
Winston-Salem, NC

Join a North Carolina Poet Shirlette Ammons in this the last of five public conversations with North Carolina scholars exploring the intersections among the humanities and the sciences, informed by SECCA's exhibit The Future We Remember. The exhibit brings together contemporary artists whose work “offers fictions and fantasies of what culture, technology, and ecology could become.” Through monthly conversations, scholars will help audiences to interpret items in a time capsule selected by exhibit artists.

Pulitzer NC Event

Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 4:30pm
Charlotte, NC

Pulitzer Charlotte: Power and Accountability

Dr. Cheryl Butler-Brayboy, Associate Professor of English in the Department of Languages & Literature at Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte, and distinguished panelists will explore the power of new media to trigger social activism and political action.

Speakers include: